Medical Center

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Home > Life Support Learning Center > Courses > Trauma Courses

Trauma Courses

Thank  you for your interest in our trauma courses offered at the LSLC

Please click the course titles for dates and registration information 


Trauma Nursing Core Course

The Emergency Nursing Association (ENA) developed and implemented the TNCC for national and international dissemination as a means of identifying a standardized body of trauma nursing knowledge. The TNCC (Provider) is a 16 course designed to provide the learner with cognitive knowledge and psychomotor skills.

In order to maximize success in the TNCC (Provider), it is recommended that the participant have at least six months of clinical nursing experience in an emergency care setting. It is assumed that the course participant possesses the generic nursing knowledge, has an understanding of emergency care terminology, and has familiarity with standard emergency equipment.   

Advanced Trauma Life Support

(for Physicians and Physician Extenders)

The ATLS® course emphasizes the rapid initial assessment and primary treatment of injured patients, starting at the time of injury and continuing through initial assessment, life-saving intervention, reevaluation, stabilization, and, when needed, transfer to a trauma center.  The course consists of pre-course and post-course tests, core content lectures, interactive case presentations, discussions, development of life-saving skills, practical laboratory experiences, and final performance proficiency evaluation.  Upon completion of the course, doctors should feel confident in implementing the skills taught in the ATLS® course. 

Prehospital Trauma Life Support

(Combined Courses for BLS and ALS participants)

PHTLS courses are internationally recognized continuing education programs for prehospital emergency health care professionals that bring the care of the trauma patient into a single focus. 

PHTLS courses provide a prehospital trauma care philosophy, stressing the need to treat the multi-system trauma patient as a unique entity with specific needs.  PHTLS courses are based on the Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) course for physicians developed by the American College of Surgeons Committee on Trauma.