Medical Center

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Site Logins
Home > Pharmacy > Residency Programs > PGY2 - Emergency Medicine Pharmacy Preceptors

PGY2 - Emergency Medicine Pharmacy Preceptors

Derek Burden, PharmD, BCPS
Director for Emergency Medicine

Dr. Burden is the Clinical Coordinator for Emergency Medicine. He earned his PharmD from the University of Kentucky and completed ASHP-accredited PGY1 Pharmacy and PGY2 Critical Care Residencies at Grady Health System.

J. Nate Hedrick, PharmD
Preceptor for Emergency Medicine

As a member of the Emergency Medicine team, Dr. Hedrick provides clinical and bedside pharmacy services to patients in the Emergency Department. He received his BS and PharmD degrees from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill prior to completing PGY1 and PGY2 Critical Care residencies at UVA. Dr. Hedrick was recognized as the 2015-16 UVA Pharmacy Residency Preceptor of the Year.

Angela H. Holian, PharmD, BCPS
Preceptor for Emergency Medicine/Toxicology

Dr. Holian is an Emergency Medicine Clinic Pharmacist. She has worked at UVA since 2010 in Critical Care and Emergency Medicine. Dr. Holian received her BS degree from the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, TN. She received her PharmD degree from the University of Tennessee Health Science Center in Memphis, TN. She completed her ASHP-accredited PGY1 residency at the University of Tennessee in Knoxville, TN. Her interests include infectious diseases, sedation/analgesia, and toxicology.

Donna M. Shuler Truoccolo, PharmD, BCPS
Preceptor for Emergency Medicine/Emergency Management

Dr. Shuler Truoccolo is an Emergency Medicine Clinical Pharmacist. She has been employed at UVA since 2013 in both critical care and emergency medicine areas. She obtained her PharmD degree from the University of the Sciences in Philadelphia, PA (formerly Philadelphia College of Pharmacy). Additionally, Dr. Shuler Truoccolo completed both her ASHP-accredited PGY1 Pharmacy Residency and ASHP-accredited PGY2 Critical Care Pharmacy Residency at Baystate Medical Center in Springfield, MA, during which time she also served as an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences in Worcester, MA. She is an active member of the Thomas Jefferson Medical Reserve Corps in Charlottesville, VA. Her professional interests include trauma, emergency preparedness, toxicology, and quality improvement.

David Volles, PharmD, BCPS
Preceptor for Surgical/Trauma ICU

Dr. Volles is a Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator in the Surgical / Trauma ICU and the Director for the PGY-2 Critical Care residency program. Dr. Volles received his BS in Biology from Virginia Tech and PharmD degree from MCV/VCU. He completed a Pharmacy Practice Residency at the UVA. His areas of interest include ICU sedation/ analgesia, surgical infectious diseases, sepsis, and anticoagulation issues in the ICU. He is also a member of the UVA institutional review board which reviews and approves all research on humans.

Kathleen A. Bledsoe, PharmD, BCPS
Preceptor for Neurosurgical/Neurological ICU

Dr. Bledsoe is the Pharmacy Clinical Coordinator for Neurosciences. Her primary practice site is in the neurosurgical/neurological ICU and intermediate care unit. She also serves as the team leader of the neurosciences clinical pharmacy team and oversees clinical pharmacy coverage for the neurology and neurosurgery acute care, stroke, and epilepsy units. She is also a member of the acute stroke code response team. Dr. Bledsoe received her PharmD degree from Albany College of Pharmacy. She completed ASHP-accredited Pharmacy Practice and Critical Care residencies at UVA.