Medical Center

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Site Logins
Home > Pharmacy > Residency Programs > PGY-1 /PGY-2 Health System Pharmacy Administration & Leadership Preceptor Biographies

PGY-1 /PGY-2 Health System Pharmacy Administration & Leadership Preceptor Biographies

Matthew Jenkins, PharmD, MS
Program Director, PGY1/2 Health System Pharmacy Administration & Leadership
Preceptor for Pharmacy Operations, Clinical Services Management, Pharmacy Practice Management 

Dr. Jenkins is Director of Inpatient Pharmacy Services at UVA, responsible for clinical services, operations, and informatics/clinical decision support. Dr. Jenkins earned is PharmD from Auburn University. He completed an ASHP-accredited combined Residency/Master’s Degree Program in Health System Pharmacy Administration at the UPMC Health-System where he also received his Masters of Sciences in Health System Pharmacy Administration from the University of Pittsburgh. Prior to joining UVA, Dr. Jenkins was responsible for Clinical Operations at UF Health: Shands in Gainesville, FL. Dr. Jenkins has served as Operations Manager and Assistant Director of Clinical Operations for UF Health and as Operations Manager for the UVA Health System prior to his current role.

Michelle W. McCarthy, PharmD, FASHP
Director, PGY1 Pharmacy Residency Program

Dr. Michelle McCarthy is the Pharmacy Education and Graduate Programs Coordinator and the residency program director for the PGY1-Pharmacy residency program at the University of Virginia (UVa) Health System.  Additionally, she serves as the residency coordinator for UVa’s 12 other pharmacy residency programs and is the Director of the Virginia Commonwealth University School of Pharmacy/ UVA Division.  Dr.  McCarthy earned her Doctor of Pharmacy degree from Mercer University and completed an ASHP-accredited Drug Information Practice Residency at the University of Pittsburgh.  Prior to joining UVa, she was a faculty member at Samford University School of Pharmacy in Birmingham, AL.  Awards include 1997 Samford University School of Pharmacy Teacher of the Year, 2003 Virginia Society of Health-System Pharmacists (VSHP) Pharmacist of the Year, 2008 Louis P. Jeffrey Preceptor of the Year, 2015 recipient of the Distinguished Drug Information Practitioner Award by the American College of Clinical Pharmacy DI PRN, 2015 ASHP Foundation Residency Expansion Grant, the 2017 ASHP Foundation Residency Excellence Program Award, the 2018 VCU School of Pharmacy Office of Experiential Education Outstanding Service Award, and 2019 American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy Master Preceptor Recognition.  She served on the ASHP Commission on Credentialing from 2008-2013 including serving as the Chair in 2012 and has been involved in numerous residency accreditation surveys as both the practitioner and lead surveyor. 


Mark Chabot, RPh, MBA, MHA
Pharmacy Informatics Manager
Program Director, PGY2 Pharmacy Informatics Residency  

Mark Chabot received his BS Pharm from Butler University. Mark worked as a staff pharmacist and supervisor at University of Cincinnati Medical Center until 1997. Mark is responsible for the pharmacy informational system and pharmacy automation. He has earned Masters in Health Administration and Business degrees from Pfeiffer University.