Medical Center

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Site Logins
Home > Clinical Staff Office > csec > Transfusion Subcommittee

Transfusion Subcommittee



The Transfusion Subcommittee is responsible for ensuring the safe and effective use of blood and blood products. This subcommittee reports to the Patient Care Committee, which in turn, reports to the Clinical Staff Executive Committee.

Membership: The Blood Bank Medical Director, The Blood Bank Manager and Quality Coordinator, Representatives from Administration, Hematology-Oncology, Neonatal ICU, Patient Care Services, Anesthesia, and other service as recommended by the committee Chair.

Staff support is provided by Blood Bank Administration.

Meetings: The Transfusion Subcommittee will meet as deemed necessary by the Chair, but not less than quarterly.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • Establishes criteria and monitors blood and blood product usage for appropriate utilization
  • Provides recommendations regarding patient and staff education
  • Reviews and analyzes transfusion reactions
  • Oversees operational and clinical practices to ensure compliance to regulatory standards dictated by outside agencies such as the Joint Commission and FDA
  • Participates in the review of outside sources of blood and the performance of those suppliers based upon recommendations made by the Director of the Blood Bank
  • Participates in the review of the relationships among the Blood Bank, the public, and other Medical Center departments
  • Collaborates with other committees and departments as needed to ensure the safe and effective use of blood and blood products
  • Provides an annual report to the Clinical Staff Executive Committee


Voting Members  Area/Specialty
James Gorham, MD, Chair Pathology
Fritz J. Angle, MD Interventional Radiology 
Tom Brady, MT Blood Bank
Dawn Burris Clinical Pathology, Director
Stacy Crowell QPI
Eve Dallas Perfusion/TCV
Kelly Davidson, MD Hematology/Oncology
Jen DeArment, MSHA, MT(ASCP) Medical Labs Administrator
Kyle Enfield, MD MICU
Danja Groves, MD TCVPO
Kelly Kruis, RN Community Cancer Infusion
Terry Libby, RN Transfusion Safety Officer
Stuart Lowson, MD Anesthesiology
C. John Luckey, MD, PhD Transfusion Medicine, Pathology
Michelle Maddox, RN TCVPO
Jane Mangione Blood Bank, Quality Assurance
Ryan Meszaros, RN Emergency Department
Whitney Myers, RN Cancer Center Infusion
Jacob Raphael, MD Anesthesiology
Matt Robertson, RN, ACNP Acute Care Surgery, SICU
Judy Smith, RN TCVPO
Mohamed Tiouririne, MD Anesthesiology
Curt Tribble, MD Cardiothoracic Surgery
Deborah Vinton, MD ED/Trauma
Gay Wehrli, MD Pathology 
Santina Zanelli, MD NICU
Non-Voting Members Area/Specialty
Jahan Chwdhury Blood Bank Transfusion Medical Service
Amanda Kinsinger Blood Bank Transfusion Medical Service
Chelsea Sheppard, MD Medical Director, VBS