Medical Center

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Site Logins
Home > Clinical Staff Office > csec > Patient Care Committee

Patient Care Committee



The Patient Care Committee is an interdisciplinary committee charged with coordination and implementation of the Plan for Provision of Care for both the inpatient and outpatient setting. This committee reports directly to the Clinical Staff Executive Committee and addresses clinical practice issues that extend beyond the scope of practice for a single professional discipline (medicine, including nutrition, nursing, pharmacy, therapies, social work, etc.) in all settings across the continuum of care.

Meetings: The Patient Care Council shall meet monthly or as otherwise deemed necessary by the Chairs, but not less than quarterly.

Duties and Responsibilities:

  • Recommends practice standards for patient care across the continuum of care
  • Provides oversight to practices related to anesthesia use outside of the OR setting
  • Provides direction and oversight for an effective Patient Education process
  • Provides organizational guidance regarding staff training and competency for clinical care
  • Approves nutritional and other clinical procedures, protocols and guidelines
  • Recommends clinical policies for approval
  • Provides direction and oversight for the Critical Care Subcommittee and the Acute Care Subcommittee
  • Approves and communicates criteria for competence in the various patient care settings
  • Collaborates with the Quality Council to monitor and improve patient care
  • Annually reviews and revises the Plan for Provision of Care and makes a report to the Medical Center Operating Board regarding the effectiveness of and recommended revisions to the Plan
Members  Area
Mary Dixon, RN, MSN, NEA-BC, Co-Chair Interim Chief Nursing Officer
Chris Ghaemmaghami MD, Co-Chair Chief Medical Officer 
Joel Anderson, RN, MSN Adult Surgical Services
J. Fritz Angle, MD Radiology & Medical Imaging
Tom Berry, MHA Emergency Management
Michael Jaeger, MD Anesthesiology
Bill Brady, MD Resuscitation
Dede Haverstick, PhD Pathology
Jamie Hughes EPIC Informatics
Forrest Calland, MD ACMO, Acute Care
James Carnes, MBA Radiology & Medical Imaging
Jim Darin, RT Therapies
Jen DeArment, MT (ASCP), MSHA    Laboratories
Luella Glanzer, RN, BSN, CCRN PNSO President
Holly Hintz, RN Nursing Governance Programs
Matthew Jenkins, Pharm D Pharmacy
Tracey Justus, MSN, RN EPIC
Paul Matherne, MD ACMO, Children's Hospital
Robert O'Connor, MD Emergency Department
Deb Owens, NNP Children's Practice
Kathleen Rea, MSN, APRN, ACNS-BC, CNL Nursing Practice Committee
George Rich, MD OR/Periop/Anesthesiology
Thomas Saul, MHA  Ambulatory Services
Costi Sifri, MD Infection Control
Christine Scheaffer, MD GME/Resident
Josh Smith, MD GME/Resident/Psychiatry
Donna Via, RN, MSN Perioperative
Brian Zwoyer, RN, MSN Surgical Services
Cindy Wesley, MSN Patient Education
Kate Willcutts, DCN, RD, CNSC Nutrition Services
Ex-Officio/Non-Voting Members
Michael Hanshew Office of CMO
Gabrielle Marzani-Nissan, MD Office of CMO