Medical Center

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools

Site Logins
Home > Clinical Staff Office > csec > Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC)

Graduate Medical Education Committee (GMEC)


Administration: GME Office
Chair: , MD, Designated Institutional Officer, Associate Dean of GME


The Graduate Medical Education Committee oversees the quality of GME trainees' training and working environment within the institution and the participating sites as regulated by the accreditation agencies, such as ACGME, AMA, AMC, NRMP.

Membership: The Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education will serve as Chair.  Voting members of the GMEC include a representative sample of program directors from the Accreditation Council of Graduate Medical Education (ACGME) programs, two peer selected GME trainees, the Chief Quality Improvement Officer, and the Chief Patient Safety Officer of UVA Medical Center.

Staff support is provided by the GME Office.

Meetings: The Graduate Medical Education Committee shall meet monthly.

Duties and Responsibilities:

    • Oversees the quality of educational experiences in each program that lead to measurable outcomes as identified in the accreditation agencies’ requirements;
    • Monitor each program’s annual evaluation and improvement activities;
    • Review and approve the GME policies and procedures;
    • Review and approve the recommendations to the institution’s administration regarding the GME trainee stipend and benefits;
    • Review and approve appointment of new program directors;
    • Review and approve requests for a new program, changes in program structure, or complement changes;
    • Monitor addition or deletion of the participating sites and ensure the quality of educational experiences in the approved participating sites;
    • Review progress reports or appeals of an adverse action by a Review Committee;
    • Establishes effective lines of communication with house staff to stay informed of issues that affect them; acts upon major issues of concern;
    • Provides an annual report to the Clinical Staff Executive Committee and to the Medical Center Operating Board 
       Members  Specialty
      Susan Kirk, M.D., Chair DIO, Associate Dean for GME
      Diane Farineau, Director Graduate Medical Education
      Kristin Atkins, MD Pathology
      Karen Saulle Residency Program Coordinator
      Mildred Best, M Div Chaplaincy
      Roger Burket, MD Psych & NBS
      Leigh Cantrell, MD Obstetrics & Gynecology 
      Jan Pablo Kollmar, MD Housestaff Council Co-President
      Donna Chen, MD, MPH Public Health Sciences, SOM UME
      Will Robinson, MD Surgery
      Thomas Cropley, MD Dermatology 
      Taryn Hassinger, MD Housestaff Council Co-President
      Richard Dacus, MD Orthopedics
      Zachariah Dameron, MD Psychiatry & Neurobehavioral Sciences 
      Pamela Mason, MD Cardiology
      Gerald Donowitz, MD Medicine/Infectious Diseases 
      Thomas Gampper, MD Plastic Surgery
      John Gazewood, MD Family Medicine 
      Ziv Haskal, MD Radiology & Medical Imaging
      Brain Hoard, DDS Dentistry
      Tracey Hoke, MD Chief Quality Officer
      John Jane Jr. MD Neurosurgery
      Jeff Jenkins, MD Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
      Sandra Johnson, MD Ophthalmology
      Bradley Kesser, MD Otolaryngology
      John Kern, Surgery
      George McDaniel, MD Pediatric Cardiology
      Freda McClung Program Coordinators Council Chair
      Edward Nemergut, MD Anesthesiology
      Sarah Oh, PhD GME Office
      Deb Perina, MD Emergency Medicine
      Thomas Platts-Mills, MD Allergy/Immunology
      Saher Sabri, MD Diagnostic Radiology
      Noah Schenkman, MD Urology
      Bruce Schirmer, MD Surgery 
      Tim Showalter, MD Radiation Oncology
      Andy Southerland, MD Neurology
      Leslie Thomas, JD Medical Education Support
      Linda Waggoner-Fountain, MD Pediatrics
      William Woods, MD Emergency Medicine
      Jeffrey Young, MD Chief Patient Safety Officer