Subject to the overall authority of the Health System Board (HSB), the Clinical Staff Executive Committee (CSEC) has the following duties:

  • Monitor, oversee and, where appropriate, manage the quality of clinical care delivered within the Medical Center;
  • Communicate to Members and Non-Members of the Clinical Staff regarding clinical practice issues and present the interests of the Clinical Staff to the HSB;
  • Act for and on behalf of the Clinical Staff in the intervals between Clinical Staff meetings and independently with respect to those matters over which CSEC is given authority in these Bylaws;
  • Establish, review, and enforce the policies applicable to the Clinical Staff, including the Bylaws, the Code of Conduct, and all other Medical Center clinical policies regarding patient care;
  • Control and monitor the membership of the Clinical Staff through oversight of the appointment, credentialing, and privileging process;
  • Coordinate the activities and general clinical policies of the Medical Center to support an institutional and integrated approach to patient care within the Medical Center;
  • Oversee the functions of performance improvement of the professional services provided by the Clinical Staff within the Medical Center;
  • Advise the Medical Center management regarding the allocation and distribution of clinical resources, including assignments of beds, clinics, operating rooms, and other elements that are important to efficient and effective medical care within the Medical Center;
  • Provide Clinical Staff representation and participation in any Medical Center deliberation affecting the discharge of Clinical Staff responsibilities;
  • Report to the HSB, as required, on the activities of the Clinical Staff Executive Committee and the Clinical Staff and makes specific recommendations to the HSB relating to the clinical efforts of the Medical Center;
  • Approve the creation of and oversee committees of the Clinical Staff as necessary for compliance with accreditation standards, regulatory requirements and governance of the Clinical Staff;
  • Receive and act on reports and recommendations from the Clinical Staff committees and Departments;
  • Develop a procedure for managing such conflict as may arise between the Clinical Staff and the Clinical Staff Executive Committee on issues related to the adoption of or amendment to Clinical Policies of the Medical Center;
  • Notify Members of the Clinical Staff of its adoption of or amendment to Clinical Staff Policies of the Medical Center, and
  • Perform such other duties as may be assigned to it by the HSB.

Current Membership 

Margaret Tracci, MD President, Clinical Staff
Michael Ragosta, MD Vice President, Clinical Staff and Chair, Credentials Committee
Edward "Jack" Jackson* Administrator, Post-Acute Care and Therapies
Kathryn Morgan, AC-PNP APP Representative
Susan Kirk, MD Associate Dean for Graduate Medical Education
Mary Anne Harkins Associate Special Advisor
Peggy McNaull, MD Chair, Anesthesiology
Lynn McDaniel, MD Chair, Children's Hospital Clinical Practice Committee
Brian C. Hoard, MD Chair, Dentistry
Arturo Saavedra, MD Chair, Dermatology
Robert O'Connor, MD Chair, Emergency Medicine
Julia Taylor, MD* Chair, Ethics Committee
Li Li, MD Chair, Family Medicine
Mitchell Rosner, MD Chair, Internal Medicine
Howard Goodkin, MD Chair, Neurology
Mark  Shaffrey, MD Chair, Neurosurgery
Paola Gehrig, MD Chair, OB/Gyn
Peter Netland, MD Chair, Ophthalmology
Bobby Chhabra, MD Chair, Orthopedics
Stephen Park , MD Chair, Otolaryngology and Plastic Surgery
Christopher Moskaluk, MD Chair, Pathology
James Nataro, MD Chair, Pediatrics
Robert Wilder, MD Chair, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
Stephen Park , MD Chair, Plastic Surgery (Interim)
Anita Clayton, MD Chair, Psychiatry
James Larner, MD Chair, Radiation Oncology
Alan Matsumoto, MD Chair, Radiology & Medical Imaging
Allan Tsung, MD Chair, Surgery
Kirsten Greene, MD Chair, Urology, Associate Chief Medical Officer
Wendy Horton, MD Chief Executive Officer
Robin Parkin Chief Information & Technology Officer
Michael Williams, MD Chief Medical Information Officer
Reid Adams , MD Chief Medical Officer
Kathy Baker, MD Chief Nursing Officer
Clark Murray Chief of Staff to the CEO, UVA Health & EVP for Health Affairs
Tracey Hoke, MD Chief Quality Officer
John Bennett* Chief, Ambulatory Operations Officer
Gina Engel, MD Clinical Practice Group
Annette Norton* Corporate and Privacy Compliance (Interim)
Rebekah Compton* CPG Interim Chief of Clinical Operations
Melina Kibbe, MD Dean, School of Medicine
Hannah Kenyon Deputy University Counsel for Health Affairs
Denise Barth Director of Accreditation and Regulatory
Stephanie Allen  Director of Clinical Staff
Sally Miller* Director, APP Programs
Craig Kent, MD Executive Vice President
Chioma Moneme, MD GME Housestaff Council Co-President
Christian Widere, MD GME Housestaff Council Co-President
Chris Ghaemmaghami, MD Hospital-Based Specialties Representative
Jenn Slaughter Legal Counsel
Kristine Hall  Medical Center Policy Coordinator
Taison Bell, MD Medical Specialties Representative
William Petersen, Jr, MD* Pediatrics, Associate Chief Medical Officer
Margaret Tracci, MD President, Clinical Staff
Theresa Lovdal, MD President, Professional Nursing Staff Organization
Stewart Babbott, MD Primary Care Representative
Tracey Krupski, MD Surgical Specialties Representative
Jeanne Bird* TCH Director of Quality
Sara Brumfield, MD Transitional Care Hospital
Robert Powers, MD* Transitional Care Hospital
*Non-Voting Member